Finding Acceptance

IMG_6614

Being in a transitional state is hard. Harder than I initially would have thought. Having just finished my year of studying and not having a job lined up yet for September, means I’m in a constant state of worry and anxiety about my future – being able to live, money issues, feeling like a failure etc etc. The list could go on.

So, I decided to create a space where I can share these thoughts and feelings we all have from time to time, and try to find acceptance…in that it is okay to feel this way. We are human, fallible, insecure beings who need constant reassurance everything will be okay. However, I want to be able to find reassurance through my own self belief. For me that means accepting that life is how it should be right now. I can’t control what’s going to happen only how I react to things now and the decisions I make in response.

Finding acceptance and letting go is hard. We want to control everything, and we can’t. From practising daily yoga and re-reading one of my favourite books from last year (The Wisdom of Yoga: A guide to extraordinary living), I am beginning to learn that if we accept the position and state we are in right now, we can begin to find a bit of happiness we have been searching for.

Through loving kindness, mindfulness and promoting a healthy outlook on life, I want to try and ease off the amount of pressure I put on myself to succeed. I am guilty of self-flagellation and beating myself up for not doing better. But that’s not going to help me. Only make me feel even worse about myself. I know I have worked hard, and I need to accept things may take longer for me than someone else. And that’s okay. Our paths are different and the choices we make are different. Doesn’t mean we are any less or more from the people around us.

On a parting note, for the rest of this week, I am going to set an intention to commit myself to accepting what I have and understand that my path is taking a different course than expected. And that’s okay!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

